Compare

MatPilot vs TeamUp

TeamUp is well liked in the UK and Europe for exactly the reasons it should be: no contract, no setup fee, free migration, pricing in your own currency. The differences are the usage-based price and the martial arts side of the product. Both columns are the vendors' own words, as of 14 September 2026.

TeamUp is a good product used by a lot of good gyms. This page is for you if you are choosing between the two, and it says where TeamUp is the better fit for you.

TeamUp: class calendar, from its website
MatPilot: classes

Left: TeamUp, class calendar, from its website. Right: MatPilot, classes.

Side by side

Price, terms and what each knows about martial arts.

As of 14 September 2026
Monthly price $79 a month on Pro, flat, unlimited members. Free plan at $0. Usage-based by active customers: around $104 to $119 a month under 100 customers and $189 for 101 to 200, in USD, GBP, EUR, AUD or CAD. A custom branded app is $99 a month more.
What sets the price Nothing. The same price at 40 students and at 400. Active customers in the previous billing month: anyone who registered or bought something, counted once.
Contract Monthly. Cancel in Settings and it ends at the end of the billing month. "There is no contract or long-term commitment with TeamUp"; month-to-month.
Notice to cancel None. None: "cancel at any time without penalties."
Setup or exit fee None. No exit fee either; your data exports from the app. None: "There is no setup fee," and data import is free with expert help.
Fee on payments 0.49% of each payment on Pro, on top of Stripe's own; 2% on the Free plan. Not stated on the pricing page.
Card processing Stripe's own rate, paid to Stripe, into your own Stripe account: 2.9% + 30¢ on cards, 0.8% capped at $5 on ACH. Through their payment partners; rates not published on the pricing page.
Free plan or trial A Free plan with no time limit, no card. Pro is a switch you flip later. "Try it free"; length not stated.
Belt and rank tracking Nineteen arts, each with its own ladder or none: the IBJJF adult and kids ladders, nine karate styles, WT and ITF taekwondo, judo kyu and dan, armbands for Muay Thai. A rank per art on every profile, every promotion dated. No belt or rank tracking mentioned on their martial arts page.
Advanced billing Family billing on Pro, one parent paying once for every child; class packs; holds booked for a later date; signup fees and trial days per plan; a delinquency list with one-tap retry; ad-hoc charges, payment links and partial refunds. Memberships and packs, joining fees, family accounts with shared memberships.
CRM and leads On Pro, no add-on: leads from your website, landing page and embedded form in one pipeline, with stages, an assignee, a follow-up date and its reminder, notes, households and a funnel report. Convert to a member in one tap. Lead management and CRM listed as core features; their Marketing Suite add-on, at £89 a month, is the advanced CRM.
Kiosk check-in Self check-in from the app or a front-desk kiosk, a coach's roster, a TV mode with the round timer and the live roster. Not stated on their martial arts page.
Waivers Signed before the first class, from the join link, the kiosk or the app; a minor's by a guardian. Yes: forms and waivers collected digitally, including health and injury information.
Accounting Xero on Pro: each payment becomes an invoice and a payment against a clearing account, sales tax per plan mapped to your tax rates. Reports and exports; accounting integrations through partners.
Where the data lives AWS in the EU (Stockholm); export and erasure from the app. Not stated on the pricing page.

TeamUp's column is read from their pricing page and their martial arts page on 14 September 2026, quoted where it matters; "not stated" means we looked and did not find it. Prices and terms change: check theirs before you decide, and tell us if a cell is out of date. TeamUp's logo belongs to TeamUp and is shown to identify them. The billing and CRM rows are read from their feature and pricing pages on 28 October 2026.

The honest split

Where each one fits better.

TeamUp may fit better if you want

  • A class-based business that wants free, assisted migration done for it rather than a spreadsheet import.
  • Waitlists, no-show penalties and customisable memberships for a schedule-heavy gym.
  • A team that does not need belts in the software at all.

MatPilot may fit better if you want

  • A price that does not move with active customers: one flat fee at any size.
  • Belts, stripes, kyu and dan, geup, armbands: a rank per art, every promotion dated, gradings with diplomas.
  • The MatPilot member app included on iOS and Android. A white-label app under your own name is not included: it is quoted on request by scope, where TeamUp's is $99 a month.
  • Xero on Pro with sales tax per plan, and 0.49% on payments into your own Stripe account.
  • Advanced billing: family billing so one parent pays once for every child, class packs, holds booked ahead, signup fees and trial days, and a failed payment retried in one tap.
  • A CRM for every enquiry: leads from your website, landing page and embedded form in one pipeline, from new to contacted to member, with notes and a call, email or WhatsApp in one tap.
  • Community and engagement tools: kudos between training partners, a suggestion box, reports to staff, Ask the professor, and a recap after every class.
Only on MatPilot

Six things you will not find in the usual gym software.

Checked against TeamUp's website and app listings on 14 September 2026. If they have one of these and we missed it, tell us and this page changes.

The MatPilot side, on screen

What the left column looks like.

Payments in your own Stripe account, revenue by plan, the platform fee in the open.
Payments in your own Stripe account, revenue by plan, the platform fee in the open.
A rank per art on every profile, every promotion dated, the ladders as the federations write them.
A rank per art on every profile, every promotion dated, the ladders as the federations write them.
Members and households on one list: one parent pays once for every child.
Members and households on one list: one parent pays once for every child.
Switching from TeamUp

Export customers from TeamUp to a spreadsheet and import them. If TeamUp was charging through your own Stripe account, MatPilot links those customers and subscriptions in place; otherwise members re-enter one card through your join link.

Nobody trains before the waiver is signed, whichever way they arrive.

FAQ

Questions you might have about the two

Both have no contract and no setup fee. What is different?

The price model and the martial arts features. TeamUp's price rises with active customers and its branded app is a $99 add-on; MatPilot is flat with the MatPilot member app included, and a white-label app under your own name is quoted on request by scope, not included. TeamUp's martial arts page does not mention belt tracking; MatPilot ships the ladders per art.

Does MatPilot price in pounds?

The subscription is billed in dollars ($79 a month on Pro); your members' payments are in your own currency into your own Stripe account and never pass through us. TeamUp bills the subscription itself in GBP, EUR, USD, AUD or CAD.

Can I keep my Stripe account?

Yes. If you already charge through your own Stripe account, MatPilot reads it and links the existing customers and subscriptions; nobody re-enters a card.

Next step

See it with your own roster.

No card required. Import your members from a spreadsheet in an afternoon.